School Advisory Council

The School Advisory Council is made up of five members drawn from both the School and wider community and the Principal who is a non-voting member. 

The Somerville House School Advisory Council is a sub-committee of the PMSA Board and provides support and guidance to the Principal and input into the Principal's advice to the Board to implement the School's Strategic Plan. 

The School Advisory Council is an advisory body and informs, advises, and supports the Principal, CEO and PMSA Board. 

A call for expressions of interest will be advertised for vacancies of all positions on the School Advisory Council. 

Each School Council’s Charter outlines the School Advisory Council’s objectives, responsibilities, and governance framework as well as their relationship to the PMSA.

School Advisory Council members

Our current School Advisory Council members are listed below: 

Ms Fiona Gaske, Chair

Ms Fiona Gaske M Sp Path St, B Mus, GAICD was appointed the Chair of the Somerville House School Council in 2021.

An elected Councillor from 2012 to 2020, Fiona brings her comprehensive experience in strategic planning and policy formation in complex organisations and environments. She is a competent, transparent leader with high-level knowledge and practice of corporate governance and performance, with significant experience on boards and chairing committees. 

Fiona is the current Chair of Regional Development Australia Darling Downs and South West and has an expansive vision and leadership expertise in rural and remote community issues, strategic innovation, diversification and sustainable futures for rural communities. As Executive Director of the innovative social enterprise LANAH, she advocates for community-led initiatives, with holistic goals to combine emotional and social wellbeing through sustainable and feasible projects, focussing on business, culture and the arts.  

Key current and previous appointments, awards and qualifications include:  

  • Chair Regional Development Australia - Darling Downs and South West 
  • Graduate Australian Institute of Company Directors  
  • Fellow – Australian Rural Leadership Program  
  • Director South West Health and Hospital Board  
  • Finalist Queensland Regional Rural and Remote Women’s Network 2014  
  • South West Regional Economic Development Committee 
  • Local Government Association of Queensland’s Regional Economic Development Advisory Group 
  • Queensland Government Advancing Regional Innovation Program Committee 
  • Queensland Great Artesian Basin Advisory Committee 
Mr Jonathan Chew

Jon is the Global Head of Insights and Analytics at Navitas, a leading education provider with over 90 colleges and campuses across 20 countries. Prior to this, he spent over ten years in consulting across the higher education, vocational education and the public sectors, most recently as Principal at the management consulting firm, Nous Group. He spent the early part of his career at the Department of Premier and Cabinet in Victoria, with two secondments to the Garnaut Climate Change Review.

Jon brings in-depth expertise on strategy, education management, data analytics, and global trends in education. He is passionate about the transformative power of education and cross-cultural experiences.

Jon is a parent at Somerville House (from 2024) and Brisbane Boys' College.

Key current and previous appointments, awards and qualifications include: 

  • Board Member - International Education Association of Australia
  • Research Committee Member and Chair of the Data Group - International Education Association of Australia
  • Executive Committee Member - BBC Parents' and Friends' Association
  • Member - Navitas ESG Steering Committee
  • 2022 IEAA Excellence Award for Professional Commentary
  • Fellow - International Education Association of Australia
  • Former Board Member - Conservation Volunteers Australia
  • Former Board Member - WetlandCare Australia 
Mrs Tracey McFarland

Mrs Tracey McFarland B.Business, GAICD is a highly experienced executive with thirty years of experience in strategic marketing management, customer experience, transformational change and operational improvement.   

Tracey has a proven track record in large market-leading service organisations and is recognised for her energy and achievement drive in consumer services, strategic vision and operational planning, innovative thinking and change leadership.  

Currently, the Chief Customer Officer at Levande - Retirement Living, Tracey strives to create better solutions to human needs and build brands, teams and reputation off the back of better experiences and business outcomes.   

Tracey is a Somerville House graduate of the Class of 1990, current parent and third-generation Somerville House family. 

Key current and previous appointments, awards and qualifications include:  

  • Executive Committee – Goodstart Early Learning  
  • Mentor - Minerva Network Australia - mentoring elite sportswomen on commercial challenges of being a professional athlete 
  • Graduate - Australian Institute of Company Directors (2019) 
  • Former Management Committee – Chief Customer Officer Forum Australia (2010-2017)  
  • Australian Direct Marketing Association - National Young Direct Marketer of the Year – (2003)  
  • Bachelor of Business (Marketing) with Distinction – QUT   
Mr Matthew Miller

Mr Matthew Miller Assoc. Dip Bus (Real Estate Val), GradDip Urban & Reg Plan is a senior Brisbane property executive with 30 years experience and extensive commercial business acumen, governance experience and stakeholder and relationship management capability. 

Currently the General Manager Queensland at Dexus, Matthew’s primary role is building, motivating and growing strong teams to deliver successful projects. He is well known in the property industry as an industry leader who tackles difficult projects with great success.

Matthew has strong connections to Somerville House – he is a current parent and his wife is a past student. He is a passionate advocate for independent schooling, particularly girls’ education.

Key current and previous appointments, roles and qualifications include:

  • Member – Somerville House School Council (first appointed 2020, current term until 2023)
  • Former Chair – Corporate & Commercial Real Estate Committee, Property Council of Australian (Qld Division)
  • Past board member – South Bank Corporation
  • Past board member – Brisbane City Council Inclusive Brisbane Board
Mrs Trisha Squires
Ex-officio members
  • Dr Sandra Hastie, School Principal EdD, M.Ed(Admin) Hons, B.Ed, Dip Tchg (Ex-officio) 
  • Ms Renee Bromiley, Business Manager BCom, CPA, GAICD (Ex-officio)