The Somerville House Foundation was launched in 1984 by a group of interested parents with a mutual passion and belief in the transformative power of education. 

Proudly celebrating our thirty-sixth year of supporting the financial security and growth of Somerville House, the Foundation operates as a company limited by guarantee and is registered with the Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC) and the Australian Charities and  Not-for-Profit Commission. The Foundation continues to this day, to support Somerville House in educating young women. The SHF does this by means of fundraising activities through a number of funds including Scholarships and Bursaries, Building Fund, Cultural Fund, Sport Fund which have DGR status, as well as Endowment and General Funds which support Scholarships and Bursaries, development, and other enhanced educational opportunities.

We operate collaboratively with the School under the requirements of the Corporations Act, with a professional Board of Directors and impressive volunteer involvement. The Board and its three committees have a diverse mix of skills and experience, and great passion for our cause.

Our Board

Permanent Directors Appointed Directors Elected Directors
Somerville House Principal, Mrs Kim Kiepe Representative of the Old Girls' Association, Ms Rebecca Bauer Ms Dominique Layt, Board Chair
Somerville House School Council Chairman, Mr Jim Demack Representative of the Parents and Friends Association, Mrs Jane Rowan Dr Wesley Hii
Mrs Kerrie Mattiske
Mrs Samantha Miller
Mrs Peta Tilse


For more information on the role the Foundation plays in our school community, and for opportunities to become involved, please contact the Director of Philanthropy, Ms Petrina Gilmore.

Postal address: PO Box 3357, South Brisbane, Qld 4101 
Phone: +61 7 3033 9289